Is Your Home Office Crying Out For Help?

Lauren Warliga
5 min readMay 24, 2022
Photo by Andrea Piacquadio from Pexels

I am a fairly average human being. I don’t have any earthshattering skills or talents. And while there’s not much that makes me stand out in a crowd, I’ll tell you one thing: I’m a decade ahead of the curve when it comes to the trend of remote work. You know what I tout at parties? I worked from home long before it was cool or CDC-recommended. Oh yeah, I’ve been hiding out in my home office for ten-plus years. I even have the social skills to prove it [insert creepy double wink here].

Jealous? Try not to be. While I’ve enjoyed formulating the secret language I now have with my three elderly Chihuahuas, who have beds atop my L-shaped desk, I otherwise haven’t been good to myself. It took me over a decade to mentally and financially justify some of the must-haves I now possess in my home office.

Why’d it take me so long to make sure I had a decent ergonomic setup? To purchase furniture that was both functional and aesthetically pleasing? To safeguard my data and hard work? To ensure optimal productivity?

Easy. I was being super, super cheap. I generally don’t like to spend money on myself (but don’t you even begin to judge me on my overflowing bathing suit drawer).

If you’re like I once was, and your home office is crying out for help, here are ten amazing office add-ons that I’ve personally tested…

--

--

Lauren Warliga

Lauren brings insight and humor to weight gain, parenting, work, divorce, and bad dates. She lives in NC with her husband, kids, dogs, goats, chickens, & ducks.